2 replies to this topic

#1 tigshugs

tigshugs

• CPAnet Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 November 2012 - 06:38 PM

Hello,

I am wondering if someone can help me understand this change better. I am currently a California state CPA exam applicant and still have to complete all four parts of the CPA exams. I had some questions in regards to the change the will happen in Dec 2013.

At the moment I would qualify to obtain the licence if I finish all the exams before Dec 2013 through the path one approach. which is
i don't need 150 semester hours. This is for the California State.

My first question : -
After Dec 2013, I understand I would need to have the 150 Semester hours.
I believe at the moment I have 90.73 credit hours (I think that means I have 90.37 semester hours) from my foreign evaluation In BSc Accounting and Research that was sent to the California CPA board. The Board accepted the application and therefore why i am able to currently sit for the exams.

I honestly am not sure if the exact remaining semester hours I would is 60 need to complete under the upcoming new rules but i am making that assumption for now.

From what I have read under the new requirements I would need to complete the following additional 10 semester hours in ethics, 20 semester hours in Accounting studies. So that would be 30 more added to my current 90. Making me short by 30 semester hours to met the minimum 150.

Does that means the 30 remaining semester hours can be in any other subject that is not business or accounting related?

My next question is
Also assuming I finish all my CPA exams ( passed four parts ) some time after Jan 2014. Do the CPA exams completion expire? Is there a time limit on how long I have to complete 60 semester hours?