5 replies to this topic

#1 DavidMB13

DavidMB13

• CPAnet Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 January 2013 - 01:38 AM

Hey everyone,

I am new to the forum and this is my first post. I've been looking over some of the information on the site and I wanted to present my specific situation. I see some pretty knowledgeable folks around here and I think you could all be a great help. I'm 27 years old and I recently graduated from a city school with an accounting degree. I graduated Magna Cum Laude with a 3.86. This is actually my second degree. My first degree I earned in 2009 in Political Science. I also graduated Magna Cum Laude with a 3.83 at that time. After graduating the first time I went and worked at a bankruptcy law firm for about a year. The original plan was to go to law school but I decided against it.

Anyway, I'm currently in the masters program for accounting at the same school but I have one major problem. I've been getting some poor advice from family (although I take full responsibility) which was basically to wait until graduation to start the job search. This means that I have missed all the on campus internship/recruiting opportunities while I was in undergrad. My goal from day one of going back to school for accounting was to get into the Big 4. I suddenly feel like I have missed my opportunity as I have missed the career fairs. My question to the community is what can I do now? I know I have the grades, I worked so hard for so long. I have sent my resume through e-mail to many public accounting firms but I haven't heard back from any of them and I have been told continuously that recruiting only occurs on campus for entry level/internship positions.