1 reply to this topic

#1 dale407

dale407

• CPAnet Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 June 2013 - 10:18 PM

Hello everyone, 

this will be my first post your input will be appreciated.

Well, I am in the midst of deciding whether to go back doing book keeping type jobs for around $13-15 an hour in Cincinnati, Ohio or stick with my current job for a little while then pass the CPA exam and go into public accounting. I enjoyed the bookkeeping jobs I've had in the past but I also think I would like public accounting as well.

I graduated in Dec of 2009 from a large state school in the University of Central Florida my GPA was a tad below 3.0,

In the midst of the recession and low gpa I could not get into the big 4.  Being in Florida with the high unemployment at the time I decided  to pursue an opportunity to live in Alaska. 

In Alaska, I was able to get my foot in the door with a large regional bank as a general ledger accounting clerk. I mainly worked on reconciliations and cash balancing. A little over a year I decided to pursue an opportunity with a large native corporation as a admin assistant/ accountant. I  was basically the front line in the financial reporting process for my unit. It was more of an operational role that involved food service for a hospital. Making deposits, keeping the safe and cashiers cash inline, preparing A/R invoices and processing A/P invoices,payroll and also doing some HR functions.

Well being in Alaska, away from my family for some years, I decided to move to Cincinnati, Ohio. 

I eventually got a job auditing claims for promotions on consumer product goods, This is not like real auditing financial statements or anything like that. It is just basically ensuring that the information that is correct and the retailers are not trying to scam the promotion.

Which happens on a daily basis by the way. So it is somewhat like auditing i guess. I am making minimal money at this job less than 25,000 a year.