• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 The Bored Accountant

The Bored Accountant

• CPAnet Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 November 2013 - 05:21 PM

Hey everyone! I am new to CPANET as a registered user, but I have been browsing through this forum looking at other people's advice and experience on the accounting recruiting process. I would like to just share my amazing experience in finally getting the job I've wanted: landing Big 4 right after college.

I am a graduating senior at a California State University majoring in Accounting and a minor in Communication Studies. I have a 3.6 GPA, no accounting internships, but have been involved with Delta Sigma Pi, Beta Alpha Psi, and Alpha Phi Omega in leadership roles (VPs, President, etc). I have finally made strides to get involved with Career Connection this semester, and participate in On Campus Recruitment.

I have interviewed with the following in the past 3 weeks:

1. Macias Gini & O'Connell

2. CohnReznick

3. Crowe Horwath 

4. Gilbert Associates

5. Moss Adams

6. Ernst & Young

My goal is to get to a Big 4 firm as soon as college was over. I was able to be a part of Beta Alpha Psi for a few semesters as a member, so I had opportunities to meet Big 4's staff. I really liked how our EY office was over here, but unfortunately I was not able to sign up for an interview for them (I'm on a waitlist). They called me four days before my first-round interview, expressing interest in that they looked over my resume and wanted to interview me. So of course I accepted.

1st round: Oct 28