1 reply to this topic

#1 diligentlearner

diligentlearner

• CPAnet Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 April 2014 - 05:59 AM

Hello everyone. This may sound unusual but here is where I am at:

I am a licensed attorney that is ready to leave law and become a CPA - I am still under 30. I am eligible to take the CPA right now (I plan on taking AUD this month and I'm confident I'll pass as long as I keep it up). The only accounting experience I have is working at a small company fixing their books and assisting them with coming up with processes to prevent errors in the future. I have been there only a few months but I feel I have learned a lot.

I am looking for a new position but I have not received any interviews or positive responses so far.

The thing is that I know I can do these jobs. I don't know if it is because no one else where I work is an accountant or because I am good at what I do, but accounting seems easy compared to law in my humble opinion. I've seen some positions with requirements like these that I do not understand:

• Need at least one year QuickBooks experience

I had never used QuickBooks before my current job and it took me about one week to figure it out. I am not sure why someone would ever need an entire year (or more) to learn QuickBooks.

• Need 1 (or 2) years relevant accounting experience

For many of these smaller companies, their accounting is not rocket science unless they are selling collateralized mortgage obligations or something like that. The bookkeeper I work with now has been there about six years and I have been the one to explain to her how to book this, that, and the other thing. I am not sayng she is a bad bookkeeper, just that no one ever told her these things. I can't help but feel I will still need that week or so to get the hang of any new company regardless of whether I have six months or five years of accounting experience.

• Need to know VLookup