Photo
- - - - -

Career change: nursing to accounting

career change accounting nursing miserable help registered nurse advice FML unhappy

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 fugitive RN

fugitive RN

• CPAnet Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 19 May 2014 - 04:59 AM

Sorry if I missed the customary "Introductions" thread if there is one. Anyway, to make it simple I am a registered nurse working in Pennsylvania in the United States. I've recently graduated college with a Bachelors of Science degree and began working as a RN about a year ago. Before that I was a nursing assistant for a year. I have become disappointed in my career and myself and have been pondering accountancy for at least the past 6 months. 

I believe I entered the nursing profession for the wrong reasons, but have also come to dislike a great deal about it while working. After some consideration, chats with accountant friends and relatives, as well as taking a few Myers-Briggs personality tests - I have come to the conclusion that an accounting degree may very well suit my personality and intrinsic desires more aptly. 

This is where I hope this online community may lend a hand. Not only will I "lurk" the forums and gauge some accountant-proclaimed negatives and positives of the career, but I hope for guidance on whether or not I truly am suited for accountancy. I sure don't want to end up in yet another career that makes me miserable. I hope you understand.

Thank you for your time and thoughts.

#2 Staff Acct Making Only 38k

Staff Acct Making Only 38k

Advanced Member

• CPAnet Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts

Posted 21 May 2014 - 11:01 PM

How much do you make now?

"He's a CPA, but he did stay at a Holiday Inn."

#3 fugitive RN

fugitive RN

• CPAnet Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 22 May 2014 - 01:00 PM